The Yakima Police Department honored officers Wednesday during its annual awards ceremony. The department named Detective Curt Oja as Officer of the Year. Other officers who were involved in various life threatening situations were given Life Saving Awards. The officers Sergeant Rich Fowler, Officers Ben Graves, Darius Williams, Joe Scherschligt, Matt Drumheller, Corrections Officer Mark Dole and Corrections Sergeant Dwight Charlton were all honored on Wednesday.
Recently retired Officer Tim Cruz was honored for his 35 years of service to YPD and the Yakima Police SWAT and Hostage Negotiating team was honored for its ongoing work in 2017.

More From News Talk KIT