Previous winners include two members of congress, a Washington Supreme Court Justice, a research scientist and a Fox News legal analyst.


The Yakima Valley Community College Alumni Association is seeking nominations for the annual Distinguished Alumnus Award.  The award will be presented at the YVCC commencement ceremonies in June.

The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2013 and application forms are available by calling Deborah Wilson at 509.574.1932, or by email at

Because  many former YVCC students have used the college as a spring board and in many cases did not remain for a full two years, the Distinguished Alumnus Selection Committee has set the following guidelines for nominations:

Any former student who attended YVCC for a minimum of three quarters;attained at least 45 credits,and has distinguished themselves in some positive manner is eligible for nomination.

The award was first conferred in 1982 to Catherine May Bedell, a 1934 YVCC graduate and U.S. Congresswoman for 12 years.  Since then, the award has been presented to J. Alex Maxwell, a member of the first YVCC class (1928); Sid Morrison, US. Congressman; James Roger Sorenson, Ph.D., research scientist; Robert F. Brachtenbach, Washington State Supreme Court Justice; E. Frederick Velikanje, attorney; Don Crook, historical artist; Lis Wiehl Fox News legal analyst and author; and last year, Mr. Dave Lester, news reporter for the Yakima Herald Republic.

Visit the YVCC website here.