Yakima County will be represented by six of Central Washington’s 13 delegates to the National Democratic Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina Tuesday through Thursday, Sept. 4-6.
Led by County Chair Mary Stephenson, the delegation of Matt Tomaskin, Jeremie Dufault, Rosalinda Mendoza, Elizabeth Mendoza and Juan Orozco, plans to depart Friday, Aug. 31 to allow for possible travel delays.
They are included in Washington State’s total delegation of 120 men and woman comprised of 105 elected delegates and 15 unpledged delegates: such as Gov. Chris Gregoire, some elected officials, State Chair Dwight Pelz and other Party dignitaries.
Among the convention highlights will be speeches by senate candidate Elizabeth Warren, vice president Joe Biden, former president Bill Clinton and the keynote address by Julian Castro, mayor of San Antonio. The roll call is scheduled for Wednesday. President Barack Obama’s acceptance speech Thursday will bring the convention to a close.
Other convention delegates from Central Washington are:
George Fearing, Richland; Brad Taylor, Prosser; Teri Staudinger, Pasco; Jon Ferguson, Ellensburg; Ken Caylor, Othello; Lorrie DeKay, White Salmon; Karen Keleman, East Wenatchee; and Dennis Montes, Nespelem.
Mrs. Stephenson said the state party has encouraged delegates to use daily Tweets and Facebook page updates to personalize their convention experiences.

More From News Talk KIT