Secure Your Load Before You Drive or Face a Fine
Secure your load if you're going to the dump or the beach or anywhere you drive where something could fly off your vehicle and hit another. On Monday a 28-day statewide emphasis started with Washington State Patrol troopers searching for people with unsecured loads. If you fail to secure your load it could get you a citation and fines starting at $228 plus you could face criminal charges.
State lawmakers in 2004 created more serious penalties for unsecured loads after a woman was blinded after a particle board flew off and truck and into her windshield while she was driving along i-405 near Renton.
Don't litter either because troopers will be looking for drivers who litter as well. Littering fines range from $50 - $5,000 in Washington. The largest is for “lit debris” – usually cigarettes.