Seattle's Pro Bowl running back was honored last night at a ceremony in Seattle.


Administered by the Seattle Sports Commission, the Sports Star of the Year was for many years sponsored  the Seattle Post Intelligencer newspaper. Now sponsored by MTR Western, a motorcoach charter company, the 78th annual awards were held last night at Seattle's Benaroya Hall.

Winners are chosen by formula consisting of fan voting and the Sports Star Committee vote, which is compiled of local sports historians, media and others active in the sports industry. Honorees are selected by the Sports Star Committee.

In the professional sports category, Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch took the trophy.  Lynch, who ranked among the NFL’s leading rushers and set the tone for the Seahawks offense with his bruising style, determination and yards gained after contact. He also tied a team record for consecutive 100-yard games.

Get the complete list of winners here.