State Works To Fine Drowsy Truck Drivers And Limit Time On Road
It’s the rule of the road; Truck drivers can drive no more than 11 hours a day. Along our local highways, a dozen electronic screeners will make sure truck drivers are getting enough rest by scanning license plates, and sending information to nearby weigh stations. truck drivers who have been on the road longer than 11-hours will be signaled in to a weigh station and may face fines. Here in Washington, state troopers say fatigue is a big cause of truck accidents. There have also been problems with drivers under-reporting hours in their logbooks. Washington State Patrol officials say most truck drivers out on the roads are safe, but this new tool will help catch the ones that aren’t following the rules, and tell them to park it. WSP says in August alone, 98-drivers were cited at the Nisqually truck scale, for driving more than allowed by law.