Five educators in the Yakima School District were honored with John D. Mcalister Crystal Apple Awards today. The awards, along with $1,000 checks are given each year to educators nominated by fellow teachers, student, parents, and community members.

The five given Crystal Apple Awards include:

Jeff Clark, Nob Hill Elementary School

Cyndi Gallon, Yakima Online

Lee Maras, Adams Elementary School

Stu McCurdy, Eisenhower High School

Jan Pease, Lewis and Clark Middle School

In addition, 15 other educators were nominated for the awards. Five were honored to be named the winners May 2. A public ceremony to recognize all the educators is set for May 7, at the Yakima Convention Center.