Fireworks are banned within Yakima City limits and in the unincorporated areas of the county, however, fireworks are legal in Grandview, Granger, Mabton, Moxee, Naches and Zillah.

Six fewer licensed fireworks stands will operate in Yakima County this year compared to last year, part of a statewide downward trend, according to a report issued Tuesday by the office of the Washington State Fire Marshal. Yakima County has six licensed fireworks stand this year, dropped from 12 stands in 2012. Statewide, 877 stands have been licensed in all 39 counties in 2013, down 3.2 percent from 906 licensed stands in 2012.

The numbers do not include stands on state Indian reservations.